log in | register
Greener and more colourful offices for Unibep
GNT Ventures takes on West House 1A


Timeless Bauhaus

Opr./edited AZ 16 September 2019
Timeless Bauhaus
Ludwig Mies van der Rohe
This year is the 100th anniversary of the Bauhaus school of art and design. Founded by architect Walter Gropius in Weimar, the movement made a major contribution to the emergence of modernism.

Its ideas have not grown stale despite the passage of time and still act as an inspiration for designers. The artists and designers associated with the Bauhaus school include Wassily Kandinsky, Laszlo Moholy-Nagy, Marcel Breuer and Ludwig Mies van der Rohe. Marcel Breuer was the designer of the Wassily chair, inspired by the bicycle frame. Fascinated by how this object had retained its form over the decades, he began designing the chair by experimenting with a steel pipe. Along with the Wassily and Cesca chairs, Marcel Breuer's Laccio tables and Mies van der Rohe’s Barcelona chair, which are considered the icons of the modernist style, are of key importance in the history of 20th century design.

Want to know more? Sign up for the Newsletter



The 16th CEE Warehouse & Logistics Conference
Suits on bikes. The 4th bike ride with city planning specialists
The 15th Annual Eurobuild CEE Tennis Tournament
The 19th Annual Eurobuild CEE Golf Tournament
Eurobuild Awards 2020

About Us Contact Privacy Rules Archive Newsletter
Copyright 2017 EuroCEE. All rights reserved.